Home Page

Early Years Foundation Stage

The children are given opportunities to develop across seven areas as stated in Development Matters in the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS).


These include three Prime areas of learning:

Personal Social and Emotional Development (PSED)

Physical Development (PD)

Communication and Language (CL)


As well as four Specific areas of learning:

Literacy (L)

Maths (M)

Understanding the World (UTW)

Expressive Arts and Design (EAD)


The prime areas are fundamental to enable children to explore, play and develop in all areas of learning. The specific areas provide skills and knowledge which are important for children to successfully participate in society.


Please take a look at our Foundation Stage Class page for examples of how our children learn at Gispey Bridge: EYFS Class Page