Home Page

Literacy

Week 3

This week and next, we are going to be exploring and writing newspaper reports. 

First News is a brilliant newspaper that is designed for children. It's the one we have access to in school and we will be using their online resources to research the different features and support with our own writing. 

Tuesday 19th January

To be able to use speech punctuation accurately.

 

This lesson will be revision to remind us all how to set out speech in our writing so that we can include quotes from sources in our newspaper reports. The resources are set out in order.

Still image for this video

Monday 18th January

Still image for this video
Week 2

Friday 15th January - SPaG

Still image for this video

Thursday 14th January - Reading Comprehension (RE)

Still image for this video

Wednesday 13th January

Still image for this video

Tuesday 12th January

Still image for this video
Some of the children will find this challenging. The important aspects are the structure of the report, with the sub-titles and paragraphs and the facts (including vocabulary). They do not have to write pages and pages - the best advice I can offer is to go with the flow. If they struggle, expect a couple of sentences per paragraph and move on. 

Monday 11th January - Report Introduction

Still image for this video

Friday 8th January - SPaG

Still image for this video

Thursday 7th January - Reading Comprehension

Still image for this video
Reading Comprehension for Phonic Group 5
Reading Comprehension for Phonics Group 4
Reading Comprehension for Phonics Group 3
Reading Comprehension for Phonics Groups 1 and 2

Wednesday 6th January - Planning a report

Still image for this video
Top